Court of Two Sisters Mardi Gras, New Orleans 1950s
The Court of Two Sisters, a popular and picturesque restaurant in the old French Quarter in New Orleans, was constructed as a private home in 1832. The name refers to sisters Bertha and Emma Camors, members of an aristocratic Creole family, who opened a shop on the premises in 1886 outfitting ladies with Mardi Gras costumes, formal gowns and importing lace and perfume from Paris. They served tea and cake to their best customers and thus, the hospitality tradition here was born. This Mardi Gras menu dates from the 1950s when the restaurant was owned by host and bon viveur Jimmie Cooper. In 1963 The Fein family took over The Court of Two Sisters and continues (to this day) to safeguard its heritage. They restored the tomb of the two sisters, who died within two months of each other, and who are laid to rest in St Louis Cemetery, New Orleans.
Courtesy Private Collection.
Gallery quality Giclée print on natural white, matte, 100% cotton rag, acid and lignin free archival paper using Epson K3 archival inks. Custom printed with border for matting and framing.
All printed in USA.
Each product is accompanied by a copy of the interior menu where available.